Birthday crisp

March is a big birthday month, it seems.

Thanks, Facebook, for reminding me every time there’s a birthday. Because I definitely wouldn’t remember them all.

And then WHAT kind of a friend would I be? Sheesh. Especially because I can’t claim it’s due to my never-checking-Facebook problem. Because we all know that doesn’t exist.

One birthday that I have a hard time forgetting is my dad’s. I think that, of all the birthdays in March, that’s probably the best one to remember, right? I mean, the whole, “helping to give life to, raise, support, yadda yadda” stuff.

I think I remember because it’s the day before St. Patrick’s day, and everyone makes a big deal about of green beer.

I think I also remember because he begins to remind me a week before.

I do the same thing.

Apparently it’s in my genes.

For my dad’s birthday, I decided to make a dessert.

Not a cake. Because that’s not really his thang. So cupcakes were out, too.

A pie?

Ugh. Not sure I was up for rolling a pie crust on a Friday morning.

But! A crisp!

If there is an apple crisp on the menu, you can almost be certain that it will be given a second, third, and possibly fourth glance. I may question the genetics behind birthday countdowns, but I can say with absolutely certainty that my father passed the love for apple crisp on to me.

It worked out perfectly, too. Because, after all the warm, 75 degrees and sunny weather, the forecast for today was grey and rainy.

I totes planned it that way. Nothing makes gross weather ok quite like cinnamon does.

So, for the man who repeatedly taught me how to check the oil in my car, spends countless phone calls helping me with my taxes, made sure I was exposed to all the right music, could name the band, the instruments, AND sing the harmonies*, I give you a birthday crisp.

*Obviously, there was more stuff, too.

Birthday Apple Crisp

Filling:

4-5 large apples (I used Granny Smith, but you could use any firm baking apple, such as Cortland or Golden Delicious)

1 teaspoon lemon zest

2 teaspoon lemon juice

3 tablespoons granulated sugar (I used vanilla sugar, but you can also just use regular granulated)

Topping:

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup old-fashioned oats

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons butter, cubed

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease an 8×8 pan.

Core and dice the apples. If you’re feeling really ambitious, peel them, too. I didn’t because I don’t mind the skin. Put the diced apple into a large bowl.

Sprinkle the zest, lemon juice, and sugar overtop the apples and mix well. Set aside.

Put all of the topping ingredients in a small bowl and mix until it resembles coarse, crumbly sand. You don’t want any large pieces of butter sticking out. I started out using my fingertips and finished using a fork.

Spread the apples into the prepared pan.

Sprinkle the topping over the apples.

Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until the topping is brown and bubbling.

Serve with ice cream (woah!), frozen yogurt (maybe more hip-appropriate), or Greek yogurt and call it breakfast.

3 Comments on “Birthday crisp”

  1. James Pabarue says:

    Thank you so much, my sweet daughter (the “Best Child – Ding!!”) I look forward to tasting belatedly this delicious treat!

    Love, Dad

  2. Sandy Sandhaus says:

    Very sweet! And not just the apple crisp. Happy birthday, Pabs (if you read this)

  3. Mom says:

    I would like a similar tribute for my birthday, so I can print it out and carry it around. Angel food cake, please. Then find something to do with the yolks . . . .


Leave a Reply

