Ginger Grapefruit Curd

I have a confession:

I’m on Spring break.

And it’s glorious. I’m not even gonna pretend. I’m so flipping excited to be able to take these next two weeks and do the things I’ve neglected since my last break in December.

Like get my hair cut. And hang up pictures in my room. And take my coat to the dry cleaners. And order a desk. And learn how to apply liquid eyeliner. And go on a hunt to find avocado milkshakes. And see the inside of the gym that I pay far too much money for each month.

Yes. These are the things I get excited about. These are the big things in life.

Part of me feels guilty. Like, who am I that I get to do nothing all day except find excuses to go outside and drink coffee and paint my nails an outrageous shade of turquoise?

Except!

There are others!

Who may or may not be on Spring break right now!

Doing this, too!

It’s amazing what you see in the city while you’re not at work in the middle of the day. Who are these people, what do they do, and how can I be like them? We’re clearly dealing with some jealousy issues right now. Two days into break and already I’m mourning my return to work.

One thing that my break will not contain?

The beach. Or palm trees. Or tropical drinks. Or bikinis.

Oh, goodness. For so many reasons, this break will not contain those things.

But! It will contain things that are sunny and bright and make me think of warmth and happiness.

Like this ginger grapefruit curd. Oh yes.

But can we be honest for a second? I’m all about honesty these days.

That word curd is awful. Whoever decided that this luscious treat should be called curd should reconsider. Because there are very few good associations with the word curd. Ick.

Another honesty moment? I kind of wish this curd was tangier. I wanted the almost-make-your-mouth-pucker taste of the grapefruit to come through. Something to experiment with, I guess.

Don’t get me wrong. This curd is still awesomely awesome spicy silky deliciousness.

It’s good on muffins, scones, cake, yogurt, a spoon, your finger. Anywhere, really.


Ginger Grapefruit Curd

From 101 Cookbooks

1 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit juice, strained

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup granulated sugar OR 1/4 cup honey (I used sugar because my honey has a strong taste)

2 large egg yolks, room temperature

2 large eggs, room temperature

1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt

1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice, strained

1 tablespoon fresh ginger juice (press grated ginger through a strainer)

Simmer the grapefruit juice in a small saucepan until it’s been reduced to 1/2 cup. Let it cool. If you don’t have time for this/are lazy, just use 1/2 cup of grapefruit juice to begin with, rather than the 1 cup in the ingredient list.

Cream the butter in a medium-sized stainless steel bowl. This bowl will be used for a makeshift double boiler later, so make sure it’s up to the challenge.

Add the sugar to the butter and beat until light and fluffy.

Add the egg yolks, one at a time, and beat after each addition.

Add the whole eggs, one at a time, and beat after each addition.

Stir in the salt and gradually add the grapefruit juice, lemon juice, and ginger juice.

There is a GREAT possibility that your mixture will look curdled. Mine did. You might get scared. I did. Don’t be scared… it will be fine in the end. Deep breaths.

Fill a small saucepan 1/3 way full with water. Bring to a simmer then place your stainless steel bowl on top of it.

Stir stir stir consistently. It will begin to look less curdled and a little more sauce-like. This took me about 7-8 minutes.

Take the bowl off the heat when it has thickened a little. I do the spoon test. Dip a spoon into the curd and then run your finger through it. If you can still see the path (i.e., the curd doesn’t run back together), it’s ready. It will continue to thicken as it cools.

You really don’t want to over-cook it. Especially if your heat is too high. This leads to scrambled eggs. This has happened to me. True story.

If this happens to you, no worries, just strain it into a jar.

The curd keeps for a week refrigerated, up to a month in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

