Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is stress-baking at its finest.

Huh? Stress-baking? Never experienced it? It’s when you’re overwhelmed and stressed and panicked to the point that the only thing that will fix it is mixing flour, sugar, an insane amount of butter, and chocolate together. If you throw in some espresso, things get really rowdy.

Usually, this feeling hits me around 9:30pm on Sunday nights. Or really, any time that I should be brushing teeth and winding down my day, mentally preparing for the next. Instead, I make a huge pile of dirty dishes in the sink.

Here’s how it usually goes: I spend all day thinking about the fact that I want to bake something, but rationalizing that I can’t because I simply MUST be doing work/laundry/cleaning/organizing/etc. My exercise includes moving from the couch to the kitchen and back, usually accompanied by a multitude of snacks of all varieties. There’s an insane amount of time spent on Facebook/Twitter/Pinterest/checking for emails that I don’t get because it’s Sunday and no one emails on Sundays, apparently.

…And then, suddenly, it’s 9.

How did it get to be so late?

What am I supposed to be teaching tomorrow?

Did I have to make anything for any lesson?

What do I have to show for my day, save a really big dent in the couch and considerably fewer pretzels in my I-thought-it-would-never-be-empty bag?

That’s when I get stressed.

That’s when I bake.

Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies

From Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

1 3/4 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons instant espresso powder

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

1 cup packed brown sugar

3 tablespoons white sugar

1 egg, room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips or chocolate chunks

 

Preheat the oven to 300F. Line your baking sheets with parchment paper, or spray with non-stick spray.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and espresso powder.

In a large bowl, beat together the butter and both the brown and white sugar until it’s light and fluffy. This will take about 2-3 minutes.

Add the egg and the vanilla, and beat until everything is well combined.

With the mixer on a low speed, add the dry ingredients into the wet and mix until just combined.

Mix in the chocolate chips (or chunks).

Drop rounded tablespoons onto the prepared sheet, leaving about 1 1/2 inches in between each portion. Press down slightly to form a circle, as the cookies don’t spread a whole lot during baking.

Bake about 14 minutes, or until the edges are set. Don’t don’t don’t over bake them. They’ll continue to set as they cool.

Let the cookies cool for a few minutes on the pan before moving them to a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

