Buttermilk Banana Bread

Let’s talk comfort for a minute.

Comfy socks, comfy blankets, comfy couch. All of these warm hearts and souls and make for Saturday afternoons where you never leave the apartment. I’ve been having way too many of those. I know them well, oh yes. I consider myself an expert in comfort, right now.

If there was an exam, I’d totally pass.

Let’s talk comfort food.

Familiar, warm, wrap-you-up-in-happiness smells, tastes that elicit sighs. Yeah, that’s comfort food.

To be honest, I don’t usually equate comfort food with sweet things. Nope, when I’m craving comfort, I want cheesy, bready, spicy, or salty. I want food that heals what ails me, that makes me gut-bustingly full.

But this is comfort food. This banana bread doesn’t scream comfort, it whispers it with traces of tangy buttermilk and soft warm pools of banana.

Here’s the thing:

This banana bread is the ugliest thing I’ve ever baked. So ugly that I couldn’t take a picture of it. My camera shuddered (ha! pun!) at the thought.

That’s saying something, because I’ve made some pretty ugly things.

So make this, and eat it while sitting on your couch, in your sweat pants, under your blanket. Revel in it’s ugly simplicity.

Because comfort doesn’t always win beauty contests.

 

Buttermilk Banana Bread

Adapted from Saveur, issue #129

1 cup flour
3⁄4 tsp baking soda
1⁄4 tsp salt
1⁄2 cup brown sugar
1⁄4 cup sugar
1⁄2 cup canola oil
1⁄3 cup buttermilk (I used a combination of milk and lemon juice)
1 tsp. vanilla
1 egg and 1 egg yolk
3 ripe bananas, mashed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

In another bowl, combine brown sugar, white sugar, oil, buttermilk, vanilla, egg, and egg yolk.

Pour wet ingredients over dry and whisk until just combined.

Mix in the mashed bananas.

Pour into the greased pan. Bake 60-65 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Let cool 30 minutes before slicing. Oh, this is so important. The buttermilk makes the bread extremely moist, and you’ll end up with falling apart bread if you try to slice it early. Fo’real.

Leave a Reply

