Honey Balsamic Sauce

There are so many reasons why summer is grand.

There’s the beach. And swimming. And ice cream on nighttime walks. And the sweat (oh, that part kind of bites). And, when it’s the right combination of sunshine and lack of humidity, there’s nothing better than just sitting in an outdoor space, people watching, without the need of scarves and jackets and mittens. Preferably with a super cold, glistening drink.

And there’s also the fruit.

I’ve waxed romantic about the farmer’s market before. How my love affair with it comes bubbling up at times and catches me way off guard. It’s come to the point that I have to stay away from it, literally get off at a subway stop past it so I don’t walk through and spend half my salary (given the fact that my income is already not very much and those heirloom tomatoes are so gosh darn expensive) there.

The real issue is, I have no self-control when it comes to fruit, especially from the farmer’s market. I can justify eating the entire 2 pounds of whatever fresh deliciousness I bought earlier that day. And the problem is that I DON’T HAVE THE MONEY to do that. Not to mention my body goes into a sugar shock. Details, I know.

But these cherries. They were calling to me. I love anything that has the potential to stain everything it touches (red wine, pomegranates, dark chocolate, etc.) and cherries are such a beautiful little package.

But the real kicker is the sauce. I had nothing to do with how perfect the cherries were. But the sauce.

It’s possible that at this point you may be saying to yourself, “balsamic vinegar and honey? Together? Why, that sounds repulsive!”  To be honest, I thought the same thing the first time I read about it on Cookie and Kate (Kate love!). But I made it. And I love it.

There’s the tang of the balsamic vinegar, which is cut by the sweetness of the honey.

Trust me on this. Embrace the strange.

It’s perfect on Greek yogurt. It’s incredible on ice cream. Kate suggests using it as a dipping sauce for a strawberry, basil, and goat cheese panini. Killer!

I’ve been eating it for breakfast, doing the yogurt+sauce+cherries+slivered almonds combo- a slight stray from her yogurt+sauce+cherries+pistachios (um, because I never have pistachios because… they’re a pain to shell).

It’s like liquid black gold.

Balsamic Honey Sauce

Recipe from Cookie and Kate

  • 2/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup honey

1.  Put balsamic vinegar and honey in a small saucepan over medium-low heat.

2.  Let mixture simmer, stirring constantly, for about 15-20 minutes, or until the mixture has reduced by half.

3.  Remove from heat and let cool before serving.

One Comment on “Honey Balsamic Sauce”

  1. Emily says:

    YUM! <3


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.